About UncannyVivek

Welcome to the Wonderful World of Vivek behind the Uncanny


Name: Vivek Gohil

Type of Muscular Dystrophy: Duchenne

Describe yourself using 3 words: Calm + Witty + Determined


Why did you choose the username UncannyVivek?

To be honest it was a simple decision: the first Comic Book I ever read was Uncanny X-Men + technically I’m also a mutant.

What instrument can you play?

I can play the Piano but had to stop at age 7 due to difficulties moving my arms/hands + muscle fatigue that usually comes with Duchenne.

What are you scared of?

I know it will sound cliché but I’m scared of the dark. At my childhood house, there was a dark cubbyhole under the stairs that I always had to run past as apparently there was a ‘monster.’ It was made worse after watching the scary kitchen scene in Jurassic Park.

What are your hobbies?

  • Reading: Sci-fi novels, Fantasy novels, Comic books
  • Gaming (whenever I can)
  • Anything related to Superheroes + Star Wars
  • Building LEGO sets
  • Netflix, Cartoons, Nature/Science Documentaries
  • Meeting Friends

What annoys you?

–  Being stuck behind people who walk slowly and suddenly stop right in front of me

–  People that lie or don’t lie convincingly enough

– People who are constantly negative or attention-seeking

What would you not want to lose due to the progression of Duchenne?

I would hate to lose the ability to use my fingers or hands, to be disconnected from communicating with the outside world through my blogs or use social media to interact with friends. However, if this does ever happen I know in time I could accept it.

What Superpower would you want to possess & why?

Telekinesis would be my ideal superpower. This would enable me to have complete independence, never encounter accessibility issues, face disability discrimination, bad public transport provisions that disabled people encounter everyday + (most importantly) to fly. DMD is only a part of Vivek & I love my life the way it is now.


What/Who is your Favourite?

Colour: Blue

Animal: Elephant

Robot: R2D2

Sci-Fi Novel(s): The Void Trilogy by Peter F. Hamilton

Fantasy Author: George R. R. Martin for the A Song of Ice and Fire series

Superhero: Batman

Supervillain: Sinestro

Comic Book series: Invincible by Robert Kirkman

3 Childhood Cartoons: Samurai Jack + Batman Beyond + X-Men Evolution

Current Cartoon series: Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles

Favourite Ninja Turtle: Leonardo

Boxset: Breaking Bad

Ongoing TV series: Game of Thrones

Series Ending Unfinished: Dark Angel

Sitcom: Friends 

Sport: Tennis

Movie: Terminator 2: Judgement Day

Band: Coldplay

Retro Videogame: Super Mario World

PS2 Game: Spiderman 2

Xbox: Halo 2

PS3 Game: Batman: Arkham City

XBOX 360: Mass Effect trilogy

PS4 Game: The Witcher 3

Questions from @bloonstuff

What place would you like to visit?

I’ve always wanted to visit Thailand to work in an Elephant/Tiger Sanctuary + ride an elephant (the main reason).

What tattoo would you like to get?

I would not be able to choose something permanent stuck as I would quickly get bored and will start picking faults with my choice.

What is your favourite trait in yourself?

It’s a tricky question to answer without sounding arrogant but my favourite trait of myself would be my courage. Courage has given me the tools to clearly voice my emotions or feelings clearly (a recent acquisition to be honest), analyse a situation quickly and the experiences to help other people in similar situation. I used to be passive and let the negative things I observed carry on. Cultural issues have always been an obstacle in my life, but standing up to my Father + extended family was the only way that I could conquer the issue and (re)discover the voice hidden inside me.

Question from @shonalouiseblog

If you could have any animal as a pet, what would you have?

I have always wanted to own a pet Bearded Dragon, I recently bought a male bearded dragon Zeus. It’ll take a couple of weeks for the tank to arrive then he’ll be featuring in most of my pictures!

Thank you for reading + feel free to ask more Q’s in the comments below!

 

Leave a Reply

